30 Things About Myself

1) In high school, I spent way too much time on my jump shot rather than my academics

2) I’m the eldest of seven children

3) I’m very picky with my food. I don’t like to try dishes I can not pronounce.

4) My favourite Islamic topic is Seerah.

5) I developed my ability to write by reading the Quran. I can’t explain it but its the truth.

6) I’m worried about the Day of Judgment. Sometimes I feel I’m destined to fail but I can not lose hope.

7) This past summer, I saw a woman in need of help. I rushed to help her, only to find that it was decreed she would die in my hands. She looked at me and pleaded for help. I tried to give her dawah but I felt a strong force push me away. Her eyes appeared to me that she was suffering great pain. I tried very hard to save her but I failed. Moments later, I saw her eyes follow the exist of her soul. I almost cried cause I knew she was a disbeliever and destined for the Fire.

8 ) My mother loves me beyond imaginable. I love my father more than anything in the world.

9) I got my first job when I was 12. I was a newspaper boy for the Toronto Star. I hated that job but I wanted to grow up so fast, I held on to it for as long as I could.

10) My favourite Qari is Shuraim.

11) My favourite surah is Al-Baqarah and I love the stories of Musa and Bani Israel.

12) I’ve been to Djibouti three different times. I love it there and I plan to go back there this coming summer inshAllah.

13) A few days ago, I was at a McDonald’s getting breakfast and it was 9 o’clock in the morning. I sat down in the food court and it was empty. Suddenly, a woman who appeared to be in her late thirties ordered some food and decided to sit in the chair at my table. I looked up and then I looked around at all the empty seats and than I looked back at her and said, “You got to be kidding me. Are you serious?”. She appeared to be shocked by my response. I wanted to laugh because it was so awkward.

14) My younger sister looks exactly like me.

15) I’m determined to write a book for my grand children and their children (inshAllah). In the book, I will speak nothing but the truth. I will expose the realities of my time even if it causes them to cry out of fear for my final abode.

16) I love Muhammad, the Messenger of Allah (saw). I don’t show my love for him by writing songs or poetry but instead, I want to follow his every move.

17) I’m 6’0 tall and I’m athletic.

18) I’ve grown frustrated with the Almaghrib forums. I will not visit nor post on their forums because I feel like I’m the prisoner and their the CO.

 19) I’m amazed with the words from the Quran. How it doesn’t mention dates or places but just full of lessons and meanings. I wish my children will love the Quran as much as I do or even more.

20) My father is a successful businessman in Djibouti and Dubai. He wishes for me to move down there and continue what he started but I can not leave my mother while she is still in this country.

21) I wish I lived in a different period of time. Perhaps during the time of Khalid bin Waleed, where I could of been a soldier from his army.

22) I have this mentality that marriage is difficult. Maybe it is or maybe it isn’t. Why do I care so much? I don’t know.

23) By Allah, if there is one thing I love from dunya, it would be giving sadaqah to the poor man. It is not something I developed but rather something Allah has created me with.

24) I buried my friend and Muslim brother just over a year ago. I remember standing over his grave thinking to myself, I’m afraid to meet my Lord while I’m in this state. There was a man present and he started to recite the first few ayaats from Al-Baqarah. Now I hear those same verses and I could recall the memory of standing over my friend’s grave. I remember, I can not meet my Lord while I’m in my current state.

25) Polygamy would be interesting. I believe I can be fair and just. However, the majority of the women from my time are too (whats the word…ummm) needy. Therefore it’s not something I’m intending to do. Let’s be honest, it would be very difficult trying to attend to the spiritual, emotional, financial and social needs of more than one woman at the same time. I don’t want to be a man pushed by my desires to commit the crime of injustice.

26) I write a lot about marriage but for some reaon, I’m losing the interest of actually getting married. I can’t explain why but I think it’s a means of punishment from Allah. Ya’ Rabb, please forgive me for my sins.

27) I’m arrogant on the basketball court. Sometimes I lack discipline. But now before every game I make the same dou’aa and I have more control over my emotions.

28) I want to have a big family (inshAllah). I want to have five to ten children and train them all to become the leaders of the next generation.

29) I came to this country when I was four years old. Although deep down inside, I don’t consider it to be my home.

30) Not too long ago, I almost got married. I met her parents and everything on the surface seemed to be fine. I was nervous but I was content. Until the day I asked her an important question and her answer caused me to take my case to Allah and eventually walk away.  

8 Responses

  1. Interesting Profile Akhi

    “i’m the eldest of seven children”: oh..why did i assume your sis was older?

  2. I am the oldest of seven children and I do have a sister who is in fact older than I.

    Kind of werid eh? Naw, but its a story for another post, at another time.

  3. Don’t be hatin’ on the forums mann :p ….there’s actually real beneficial stuff in there once you dig deeper down…. just don’t let it rule you.

    And subhanAllah at the woman dying in front of you…. may Allah(swt) give us all the tawfeeq to prevent ourselves and others from the Flames.
    Ameen.

  4. Assalam FearAllah,

    I wouldnt hate on the forums mann…

    I was actually very active for some time but I just think its just heavily moderated and most times I feel like very go over board.

    If you dont believe me…just visit the forums yourself and you’ll notice its not as active as it once was…And Allah knows best

  5. Wasalam

    I’ve been on the forums since ’05 and i’ve seen a lot of change since then. Allahu Alim for the better or for the worst…but nonetheless they have been a great source of inspiration, motivation, and ‘ilm for myself and for others whom i know of; I am still active on there and as a matter of fact I came across this blog thru them 🙂

  6. My bad, I dont mean to speak badly about the forums because deep down inside, once upon a time, I had a real good time learning from other students.

    Interesting how you mention you came across my blog through the forums when in fact, they deleted the link to my blog from my profile. The funny thing about the whole situation is, other members on the forums still have their blog links shining bright on their profile. But lets grant them the benefit of doubt right?

    I just love to write, read and learn and aforetime, I use to fulfill those desires through the forums.

    But lets not talk about negitive aspects of the forums. In fact, lets not even talk about the forums altogether 8)

  7. #6… I worry about the same thing too. And I think it’s a healthy fear too, subhanAllah it’s a blessing when you think about it. Because there are people in this world who go on and live their lives without ever having the fear of Allah enter their hearts, or even stopping to think that one Day they will have to stand before their Lord and answer to all of this.

    And it’s good to remember often that it is Allah who is Al-Rahman and Al-Raheem. I remember reading something recently… Ali (ra), who said that he would rather have Allah judge him than his own mother, because it is Allah who is more merciful. Something like that. A mother would never want to see her child distressed, she would hate to have to punish him and see him suffer… subhanAllah, it is Allah who is more Merciful beyond a comparison. Alhamdulillah I’ve been blessed with a wise father, who just gave me that piece of advice last night when I came to him all freaked out after listening to a lecture lol.

    And LOL at #13. I hate people who have no concept of personal space. They’re always the ones that just have to sit next to you on the subway too.

  8. السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

    “I want to have a big family (inshAllah). I want to have five to ten children and train them all to become the leaders of the next generation.”

    …Akhee…you and I have similar, infact a lot of things in commong although we now each other and I just noticed it now. The children, just make it limitless, then we will be fully in common. And as for the “become the leaders of the next generation.”…we’ve got to build future ‘Muhajdin”, and if Allah (s.w.t.) give us daughters, then they can produce them by his will and if not then I guess only Allah (s.w.t.)..

Leave a Reply

