Foreign Beauty

A restricted soul

Forced to keep the gaze low

Trapped my desires in a cube and its temperature, cold

I walked into the classroom alert as a soldier in battlefield mode

Taking a seat on the opposite side of a woman whose beauty drew the attention of my soul

I summoned my desires and locked it with a foreign code. 

I lowered my gaze and embarked my mind on the day dream road

I fantasied about meeting popular figures from the people of old

I felt a sense of comfort while trapping myself within my own mind

I discovered lessons and felt a rush in my body like that of a free fall ride

For writers, write

Politicians lie

Cowards hide

Hypocrites are the lowest in ranks from mankind

And I’m just a man who takes countless trips through his own mind

That’s the reality of my situation and the present time.

I heard a pen drop and my mind returned to find my soul seated in the room across the exit doors

I look around seeking to find the source of noise

Instead I found the beauty a woman who is unknown

She spoke out aloud and my mind rushed to free itself from useless thoughts and listened with care

The fight within began when shaitan challenged me to a game of truth and dare

I sat patiently and started to plot plans to become the city’s next mayor

I entertained myself until shaitan offered me a question of truth and not an action of dare

He asked, whether I assumed the woman with foreign beauty was from Arabia 

Or maybe she was a product of Persia

I quickly glanced over, failed the test but discovered that she was probably from Asia

Or maybe remote parts of Pakistan or even from India

But her beauty seemed to be a collection of different cultures conplied within one figure

Had I not known of the stories of men who had seen beautiful women only to sell their souls 

In order to fulfill their desires and add to their evil scrolls

I probably would’ve become a victim to shaitan’s plots and only Allah truly knows

But knowledge served as a protection

It kept me firm in the right direction

As I became guilty of letting loose my imagination

A few weeks into the semester, the professor assigned us into random groups

I found myself at a table, grouped with four men, three women

One woman possessed the beauty of an ancient Egyptian Queen

Otherwise known as “the most beautiful woman”

I sat across the table, fixed my gaze on a blank piece of paper and started to write poetry using the ink from my soul 

I zoned out into my own little world.

I created art using invisable words

Such words became a highly classified page in my Poetic Justice

I returned my attention to the group members who were in the process of introducing themselves

First name, last name and country of birth.

I paid great attention and awaited patiently for her announcement.

I grew curious over her country of birth.

I wanted to know whether Allah who created her with beauty had also granted her Islam

Then she spoke and I focused my attention

But my knowledge of the situation caused my mind to over fill with unusual thoughts

Shaitan rushed to the scene and provided assistance in removing such thoughts

But her voice was drowning from my conscious mind

My body grew with frustration as Shaitan arose fake feelings

My soul understood the situation and called for contentment

I sat back and supervised the debate between shaitan and my soul within

Somewhere between the heated exchanges, I over heard the foreign woman state she was from Kashmir

I became flooded with images of Kashmir’s mountain like scenery

A land that harboured brave fighters

A land where the poet’s words came into existence

A land that produced fresh air even in the midst of gun fights

A fight whose importance extends outside the borders of India and Pakistan

Thoughts of such a land, freed my soul from the beauty of the foreign woman

4 Responses

  1. It’s amazing how one can capture a moment in time, a battle between the unconscious and conscious, of good and evil, and use words and verse to give us a glimpse into the emotions and feelings of the experience. MashaAllah!

  2. Assalam Safia,
    We all go through events we dont always prepare for and the results of such events can lead to experiencing new emotions and feelings…which as humans, we need to release or it may just capture the best of us. Although people are created different and some need to give their souls more time to understand the different methods of dealing with new “unknown” emotions, I found…for me, at least…the best method that works to my advantage is writing and not talking about it.

    Its easy for me at the present time to close myself off and write secretly about my deepest feelings on particular situations but I guess one day, I’ll probably be “somewhat” forced to sit and “talk” about “important issues” with my other half…which its fair to assume, the first few times of such talks, its probably gonna feel “really” awkward lol.

    And Allah knows best

    Alhamdulilah,

  3. An interesting passage in Ibn Hazm’s ‘Tawq al-Hamamah,’ where he wrote briefly about the factors that led to the destruction of the Islamic society in Spain almost 1,000 years ago.

    He said: “It is forbidden for the Muslim to enjoy the song-like voice of a woman who is foreign to him.”

    (Keep in mind this is coming from a scholar who himself allowed listening to singing and music. But never did he – nor any of the Muslim scholars of or before his time – permit the enjoyment of the voice of a foreign woman, such as in the case of al-Qaradawi and al-Ghazali.) Later on in the book, he continued:

    “And I will describe something to you that you see with your own eyes: and that is that I have never seen a woman in any place who senses that a man is looking at or listening to her, except that she begins to gesture in a way that she not normally gesture, and begins to make remarks the likes of which she was not making before, and you would see her pay more attention to how she articulates her words and how she varies her postures – in an obvious and non-subtle manner. Men do the same thing if they sense the presence of women. As for the showing off of physical features, straightening of the walk, and emergence of flirtatious behavior that occurs when men and women come to be in each other’s presence or cross each other’s paths, then this is clearer than the Sun in every place.

    Allah – the Mighty and Exalted – Said: {“Tell the believers to lower their eyes and protect their private parts…”} [an-Nur; 30],

    and He Said: {“And let the women not tap with their feet, making their hidden ornaments known…”} [an-Nur; 31]

    Were it not for Allah’s knowledge of the soft manner in which women droop their eyelids when attempting to win the affection of men’s hearts, and the vile plans that they secretly concoct in order to rouse a man’s desires, He would never have revealed a verse regarding something so remote.” [‘Tawq al-Hamamah’; p. 97]

  4. With regard to reading stories like that and if that is the case then this is a waste of time. People are deceived by the idea of “free” time, for it is one of the things about which they will be questioned on the Day of Resurrection.

    It was narrated that Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “There are two blessings which many people do not make the most of: good health and free time.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 6049)

    Abu Barzah al-Aslami said: the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “A person will not be let go on the Day of Resurrection until he has been asked about his life and how he spent it, his knowledge and what he did with it, his wealth and from where he earned it and where he spent it, and his body and how he used it.” (Narrated and classed as saheeh by al-Tirmidhi, 2417)

Leave a Reply

