The Book of Allah

I stood on the platform of the subway station awaiting for the arrival of the train. I grew frustrated because I was running late for work and I didn’t have access to my own car. The door opened and I rushed to find a seat. I wanted nothing more than to drowned myself with thoughts. Quickly upon entering the train, my gaze fell on a set of open seats and I rushed to claim it as my own.

I patiently sat in my seat while entertaining myself with magical thoughts. Some beneficial, while most led me to a dead end. Soon afterwards, a Muslimah entered the train and took the seat in front of me. Naturally, my gaze that was patrolling the train had fallen to the ground like a U.S Marine in Iraq. After some time, my neck became stiff and I raised my head to stretch the muscles and I noticed the sister was reading a book. I looked closer at the book and it probably contained 600+ pages. I was interested to know the topic of her reading but I dare not present her with such a question so I remained silent and I looked away. Moments later, shaitan triggered me to look back at the book and I focused my gaze on the cover page, where I noticed she was reading a science fiction book. I became confused. My facial gesture momentarily changed and new thoughts presented themselves to me. I started to ask myself why she would spend so much precious dunya time reading a book that brings no benefit? Then I started to answer those questions myself. I gave her the benefit of the doubt and I said to myself, maybe she’s studying the author’s style of writing for one of her classes? Or maybe, it was from her desires to read such books? Either way, I didn’t know the exact answer therefore it would be more suitable for me to give her the benefit of doubt.

Not knowingly, I had been starring into the cover of her book for an extended period of time while entertaining myself with thoughts about her choice of reading. She caught my gaze looking at her book. She remained silent. But I was never a person who could hide feelings from appearing on their face and my facial gesture kept changing as new questions represented themselves and so she spoke. She uttered some words but my mind was embarked upon a different road while my gaze was fixed on her book. Her words escaped my conscious state of mind. I think she repeated herself but again, nothing changed from my side. I was deeply entertaining some thoughts and I didnt catch a word she released. She closed her book with attitude and my conscious returned to my body. I noticed I was starring at her direction and so I turned my head away from her and again, she spoke. “Are you ok?” she asked. Thinking that perhaps she caught me starring into her book, I answered her question shyly. I said, “sorry about that..I’m fine”. “You were starring at my book..something wrong?” she responded. “No.”, I quickly stated. She didn’t buy my answer but I didn’t feel a need to continue the conversation. Instead I released myself to day dream but I found it difficult to escape questions about her topic of reading. So I asked her a question before the moment left. I said, “Just one question, if you don’t mind…?”. She agreed and I continued saying, “I don’t mean to be misunderstood but are you reading that science fiction book for school?”. She responded in the negative and I was overtaken by confusion. I was confused as to why she would spend so much time reading a book that brings no benefit. Not to mention, the book was at least 600 pages deep which I assumed would take much of her near future time. Maybe I wasn’t being fair in my assumtions but I guess I just wanted the sister to spend such percious time reading books on the great Women of Islam instead of some mar-shin named Bogus who landed on earth from the planet Mars.

Than I started to think to myself, what is the greatest book present in our time that requires the most attention? The answer would be, the Quran. Now seriously, how much time do we spend in reading and reflecting over the words in the book of Allah? I’ll bet for most people, the answer wouldn’t make them feel too proud. What prevents us from putting aside some time during our day to read the book of Allah? The excuses used as answers to such a question can fill all the oceans of the world, however to sum it up, shaitan has employed us with ideas that have kept us busy with useless things. It is from my testimony that I must admit, I’ve been guilty of not paying more attention to the words of the Quran. I’m shamed because the book of Allah is truly beautiful. It’s the only book known to mankind that relates the events of the past, discusses the issues of the present and mentions what will happen in the future. It leaves nothing untouched. I mean everything from the time of Adam (as) to the moment when the people of the fire will enter the fire and the people of Jannah will enter Jannah is mentioned in the Book that will forever remain. The Quran is truly a unique book.

Unfortunately for many Muslims of our time, they only share an intimate relationship with the Quran for 30 days. Sometimes that relationship lasts for only 29 days and such days are known to us as Ramadan. It’s disgraceful if you really think about it. I feel more than shamed to mention it in my Poetic Justice but it’s an important topic which must be addressed.

Now think about this, on the Day of Judgment, when you and I and every historical figure known to the pages of history will be present, the Quran will either be a witness for or against the individual. Through the Quran, this Ummah would be granted the status to witness against the people of the past. When the people of Nouh (As) claim that he didn’t deliver the massage of Islam to them and Allah asks Nouh about the claim of his people, Nouh will state that he fulfilled his duty. Nouh would state that his people were the wrong doers and they refused to accept the massage of tawheed. In that case, it would be Nouh’s word against his people’s word and although Allah is sufficient as a witness, on the Day of Judgment, the truth of the matter shall be brought forward. Who would testify against the people of Nouh and be a means of support for Nouh? It will be the Ummah of Muhammad (saw) and although we haven’t seen with our own eyes the people of Nouh refuse their messenger and the massage of Islam but we have been given the Quran which serves as a witness against the people of the past because the Quran are the words of Allah and He revealed their story and situation to us.  

We are from the best of Nations because we have been given the best of mankind to guide us and the best of the books. The one and only. The beautiful Quran. We should never forget the Quran is a guide and even more, a trust. With each and every trust comes accountability so be prepared to answer for your relationship or lack their of with the Quran. 

Now the question of the day which must be asked. For today the question is, have we done enough to gain the endorsement of the Quran? Or can we claim a place among the foolish? Only time will tell and at the pace in which time is moving, the answer shall be known sooner than later. May Allah protect us.

When I ponder over the different between the companions of the Messenger of Allah (saw) and the Muslims of our present time, I think about the difference between the day and night. A part of the day that is filled with light which presents everything to be seen and another part of the day which covers every living being with darkness. Now let me ask, which of those two parts, would be easier to start and complete a journey? Would it be during the day light or in the darkness of the night? The obvious answer, during the day light. Therefore, when we start our lives and chose to embark upon the path of obedience then we must follow the path of those who have seen the light and have tasted the sweetness of iman. Such people are known to us as the companions of the Messenger of Allah (saw).

For example, while we continue to ignore the beauty that shines from the words of Allah, Uthmaan Bin Affaan (may Allah have mercy on him) lived the words of the Quran.

I asked a companion of mine named Abdullah, “Yo, where is your Quran…?” He responded, “I don’t know. I think it’s somewhere in my house…but if I look for it, I can find it…”

Uthman Bin Affan said about the Quran, “If our hearts were pure, we would never have our fill of the words of Allah”                                        

I asked another companion named Ahmed, “Tell me three things you love from the world…” He said, “I love rolo ice cream, women and the last ten nights of Ramadan..”

Uthmaan Bin Affaan said, “Three worldly things have been made dear to me; feeding the hungry, clothing the naked and reading (the) Quran”

I asked a companion named Musa, “tell me one thing that you can not abstain from daily…?” He said, “I can not go a day without taking a shower…”

Uthmaan Bin Affan said, “I would not like the day to come when I do not look in the Covenant of Allah (ie, The Quran)

Maybe the comparison of my companions to Uthmaan wouldn’t be fair since Uthmaan is from the best of mankind while my companions are fighting like the rest of us, to survive another day with imam in their hearts. However, the purpose of the comparison was to illustrate that success lies in following and not in innovating (may Allah protect us).

Firstly, let’s get one thing straight. The Quran has been around before you and I came into existence and surely it will remain protected far after you and I have departed from dunya. Corruption will never and I mean, NEVER touch nor meet the words of Allah. That is a deep point so I’ll give you a few seconds to let it sink into your mind and heart. By the way, I MEAN NEVER. That is a known fact.

Many times we are reminded of the importance of establishing a good relationship with our neighbours and family members but how many times are we reminded that establishing a strong relationship with the Quran will determine whether we are admitted into the gardens of paradise or left to be of those unprotected from the fire. I remind myself first and I remind you that our success as an Ummah and as individuals, lies heavily with our relationship with the book of Allah. Let’s embark upon the path that includes a life with Quran and not just a moment of recitation and no reflections.

And Allah knows best

15 Responses

  1. some ahadith regarding the virtues of various chapters of the Qur’an, collected from some of the books of Shaykh al-Albani (may Allah have Mercy upon him):

    1 – ‘al-Fatihah’: Ibn ‘Abbas narrated: “While Jibril was with the Messenger of Allah, he heard a noise from above. Jibril lifted his sight to the sky and said: “This is a door in the Heavens being opened, and it has never been opened before now.” An Angel descended from that door and came to the Prophet and said: “Receive the glad tidings of two lights that you have been given, which no other Prophet before you was given: the Opening of the Book, and the last verses of ‘al-Baqarah.’ You will not read a letter of them except that you will gain its benefit.”” [‘Sahih at-Targhib wat-Tarhib’; # 1456]

    2 – ‘al-Baqarah’: “Whoever recites Ayat al-Kursi (verse # 255) after every obligatory prayer, then there is nothing between him and his entrance into Paradise except his death.” [‘Sahih al-Jami”; # 6464] “Verily, Allah Wrote a Book one thousand years before He Created the Heavens and the Earth; from this Book descended the last two verses of ‘al-Baqarah.’ These verses are not recited for three nights in any home except that no devil can come near it.” [‘Sahih al-Jami”; # 1799]

    3 – ‘az-Zumar’ and ‘al-Isra”: ‘A’ishah said: “The Prophet would never sleep until he had recited ‘az-Zumar’ and ‘Bani Isra’il’ (i.e., ‘al-Isra”).” [‘as-Silsilah as-Sahihah’; # 641]

    4 – The Glorifiers: al-‘Irbad bin Sariyah said: “The Prophet would not sleep until he had recited ‘al-Musabbihat’ * (the Glorifiers), and he would say: “In them is a verse that is better than a thousand verses.”” [‘Sahih at-Tirmidhi’; # 2712] *: ‘al-Musabbihat’ are those chapters that begin with “سبح” or “يسبح” and they are: ‘al-Isra’,’ ‘al-Hadid,’ ‘al-Hashr,’ ‘as-Saff,’ ‘al-Jumu’ah,’ ‘at-Taghabun,’ and ‘al-A’la.’

    5 – ‘al-Kahf’: “Whoever memorizes the first ten verses of ‘al-Kahf,’ then he will be protected from the trial of the Dajjal.” [‘as-Silsilah as-Sahihah’; # 582] “Whoever recites ‘al-Kahf’ as it was revealed, he will have a light on the Day of Resurrection that will reach from wherever he is all the way to Makkah. And whoever recites the last ten verses of it, and the Dajjal emerges right after, then he will not be harmed by him. And nobody makes ablution, then says: ‘Glory and praise be to You, O Allah; I bear witness that there is none worthy of worship but You. I seek Your forgiveness and turn to You in repentance’ [Subhanak Allahumma wa bi Hamdik; ashhadu an la ilaha illa Ant. Astaghfiruk wa atubu ilayk] except that it is written on a tablet and permanently transcribed on that tablet, and that tablet will not be broken or damaged until the Day of Resurrection.” [‘as-Silsilah as-Sahihah’; # 2651] “Whoever recites ‘al-Kahf’ on the night before Friday, then a light will be lit for him between wherever he is and the Ka’bah.” [‘Sahih at-Targhib wat-Tarhib’; # 736]

    6 – ‘al-Mulk’: “There is a chapter in the Qur’an that is made up of thirty verses. It interceded for a man until he was forgiven all of his sins, and that chapter is ‘Tabarak.'” [‘Sahih at-Tirmidhi’; # 2315] 7 – ‘al-Ikhlas’: “Whoever recites ‘Qul Huwa Allahu Ahad’ and completes it ten times, then Allah will build a palace for him in Paradise.” [‘as-Silsilah as-Sahihah’; # 589]

  2. “As for seeking to memorise the Qur‘aan, then this is to be given preference over many of the things that the people consider to be knowledge, but are – in reality – either totally useless, or having little benefit. It is also to be given precedence in learning especially by those who wish to acquire knowledge of the Deen, its principles and its particulars. Since what is prescribed for such a person at this time is that he should begin by memorising the Qur‘aan, as it is the foundation of the branches of the knowledge of the Deen. This is contrary to what is done by many of the people of innovation from the non-Arabs and other than them, in that one of them will pre-occupy himself with superfluous parts of knowledge; such as kalaam (rhetorical speech) and argumentation; or very rare matters of differences; and blind-following; which there is no need for; or very strange and rare ahaadeeth, which are not established, nor of benefit; and many discussions which do not establish proofs. And he abandons memorising the Qur‘aan which is more important than all of this.”

    -Shaykh ul-Islaam Ibn Taymiyyah, al-Fataawaa al-Kubraa (2/54-55) “I heard my grandfather say: I asked my father for permission to study under Qutaybah so he said:

    “First learn the Qur‘aan and then I will give you permission.” So I memorised the Qur‘aan by heart. So he said to me: “Remain until you have led the people in prayer with it (i.e for Taraaweeh Prayer).” So I did so, then after the ‘Eed he gave me permission, so I left for Marw.” -Muhammad Ibn al-Fadl, reported by adh-Dhahabi in Tadhkirat ul-Huffaadh (2/722) “So the first thing he should begin with is memorisation of the mighty Qur‘aan, which is the most important branches of knowledge. And the Salaf did not use to teach Hadeeth or Fiqh, except to one who memorised the Qur‘aan. So when he has memorised it, then let him beware of pre-occupying himself from it with Hadeeth, Fiqh or other things, to the extent that it leads him to forget anything of the Qur‘aan, or makes that likely.” -al-Imaam an-Nawawi, from the introduction to al-Majmoo’ Sharh ul-Muhadhhab (1/38)

  3. I’m going to have to disagree with you there bro. We don’t know the sister’s relationship with the Quran, and for most, reading isn’t what’s taking them away from the Quran. In fact, reading *anything* is more beneficial to us than all the mindless entertainment we have in the age of iPods, internet and television. But it’s definitely a problem that many of us don’t give the Quran priority in our lives, and it’s great you took the time to address the issue.

  4. Assalam,
    I was just using the story of the sister and my encounter with her as an introduction to the topic I wanted to discuss. I meant no disrespect to the sister or any about what they prefer to read on their spare time.

    Everybody is different but time will always be precious regardless of who you are…and that was the purpose behind my topic. Time is of great essence.

    And Allah knows best

  5. Beautiful post masha’Allah. Reality is simply dripping from it…..

    May Allah make us of those who give the Qur’an its true Haqq…. ameen.

  6. With regard to reading stories like that and if that is the case then this is a waste of time. People are deceived by the idea of “free” time, for it is one of the things about which they will be questioned on the Day of Resurrection.

    It was narrated that Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “There are two blessings which many people do not make the most of: good health and free time.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 6049)

    Abu Barzah al-Aslami said: the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “A person will not be let go on the Day of Resurrection until he has been asked about his life and how he spent it, his knowledge and what he did with it, his wealth and from where he earned it and where he spent it, and his body and how he used it.” (Narrated and classed as saheeh by al-Tirmidhi, 2417)

  7. I suppose it depends what you would consider a waste of time. Rasulullah (saw) said that this is a religion of moderation, and even the most devout Muslim will not spend their entire day praying, fasting, etc. Everyone is going to have some free time aside from work, school and religious duties, the question, as stated in the two hadith you’ve shared, is how we choose to spend it.

    With those things aside, I really don’t see how reading could possibly be a waste of time, even a science fiction novel. Especially these days, when reading is getting more and more rare. I just read the other day that 40% of Americans read one book or less last year. Reading stimulates your mind, logic and creativity, it improves your writing and literacy… I can’t even begin to list the benefits. In fact, I’d say some of the best books I’ve ever read fall under the ‘science fiction’ genre. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Fahrenheit 451, 1984… lol

    (Disclaimer: Yes, I’m a geek. I’ll read just about anything, mostly sticking to non-fiction, but I won’t lie, 1984 is one of my favourite books ever)

  8. Reading is good and may Allah have mercy on you.

  9. Ture, but just imagine we replace all those no Islamic items that we are reading with the Book of Allah (Al Quran), Hadith, on Aqeedah, on Fiqh, Stories of the Prophet, the companions etc…we can all those benefits plus more with the exact same books that have been mentioned above. I mean, how many of us can really say that we have memorized the Quran atleast or Sahih Bukhair. For some people, the time that they spend on line talking about ‘Islamic’ issues, could have been used for memorizing one Surah of the Book of Allah (s.w.t.) thinking that they are really doing something of beneficial, getting a reward, pleasing Allah (s.w.t.), when in all reality shaitan is just tricking them.

  10. “Say: Shall We tell you who will lose most in respect of their deeds? Those
    whose efforts were astray in the life of this world, while they thought that
    they were doing good works.” [Quran 18:103-104]

  11. & Also

    There are a great many actions where
    a man acts, thinking they are purely intended for Allah’s pleasure, but he
    is deluded, for he fails to see the defects in them. Those who do not realise it only come to see
    their good deeds appearing as bad ones on the Day of Resurrection; they are
    the ones referred to in Allah’s words:

    “And something will come to them from Allah which they had never
    anticipated, for the evil of their deeds will become apparent to them.”
    [Quran 39:47-48]

  12. You’re right. I was just thinking about the different ways people tend to spend their time aside from religion/work/school/family, and reading anything seems to be a better option. Knowledge of the deen is best, but that shouldn’t cause us to ignore worldly knowledge either. It’s important to read about other things too, and as Muslims we should have a good grasp of social and political issues, since so much is relevant to the Ummah. I still haven’t met a Jew I couldn’t destroy in a debate on Israel/Palestine, and there is nothing better than being able to point out that there’s nothing about the Trinity in the Bible to Christians lol

  13. Assalamualaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarkatuh.

    Very reflective post!Mashallah…

    Brother ameen i too love feeding poor,reciting Qur’an with melody/tune and using non alcoholic perfumes and to have a sincere,pious companion Inshallah.

    Many of us are in love with some one or something but only few are with it i.e Al-kitab.

    All other books are for our information but it is for our transformation.

    Every muslim should have it or a part of it in his/her heart so that it show’s the right direction towards jannah just like a compass on a ship shows the right direction to the sailor.

    The best thing we should do abt it to know it in our head, sow it in our chest ,stow it in our heart n show it in our life…Inshallah.

  14. So much is relevant to the Umma. We need Sincere ‘Muslim’ Doctors, Lawyers, Pharmacists, Social Workers, Nurses’, etc…may Allah (s.w.t.) give us all the Ilm we need to master his religion of Islam and enough Ilm to get by in this temporary stage in our life where we feel like sleep/riding on the TTC and just waiting to get of our stop called Akhira.

  15. Ameerul Mumineen ‘Umar ibn Al Khattab’s commanded the people to work hard and encouraged them to earn‏:

    ‘Umar said: “Learn a profession, for soon one of you will need a profession.”

    If ‘Umar saw a young man and liked him, he would ask: “Does he have a skill?” If the answer was no, he would say, “I am no longer impressed.”

    And he said: “There is no situation in which I would like to die, apart from J#)# for the sake of Allah, more than if death were to come to me when I was traveling with my camels (for the purpose of trade), seeking provision by the bounty of Allah.” And he recited the verse:

    {….Others traveling through the land, seeking of Allah’s Bounty} (Qur’an 73:20)

Leave a Reply

