Facts without Fiction

1) Its embarrassing when you think about it. We (that includes you and I) go days at a time without making dou’aa. We walk up and down the streets and sometimes make a right or left turn (depending on where you wanna go) without pondering over our life to come. Or what shall become of us when the inevitable moment of our lives approaches. Shamefully, we don’t remember to make dou’aa even during those period we find ourselves sitting in front of the television screen, looking upon it not knowing what the heck we’re watching.  A dou’aa as simple as six short words; “O’Allah, forgive me for my sins”. But just remember to say those words with sincerity and not because a shiek told you to say them or you found such a reminder reading Ameen’s blog.. Unless of course, you have lived your entire life without committing a single error and in that case, HOLLA at cha boy. SubhanAllah, can we be friends? 🙂

2) Throughout my education, I’ve always found myself seated in a lecture where the teacher or professor states important factors on how to become a (better) writer. He (or sometimes a she) would stand in-front of the classroom with their middle aged, semi cocky attitudes and find the urge to remind us “(O’)Students, to become a better writer you must be able to read”. If only you could see me, holding myself back from jumping out of my seat with laughter due to the words of the professor who couldn’t state his point clearly. Sometimes the students in the room would look at one another with a dazed look to their faces that screamed out “What the heck did he just say..? Be able to what?” and there I would be, ready to rescue them with my statement. I would stand and proclaim, “like really though Sir, its quite clear that we know how to read! but its your job to teach us how to write”. Of course…I would stand up and utter such words in silence 🙂 (People, a man’s got to do what a man’s got to do…) Other times, the professors would state their focus points using the most basic terminology, desiring for their students to understand the issue at hand. Such professors would say, “students, reading improves your overall writing” and just as those words entered one ear, would soon depart from the other. I would think to myself, “obviously Sir! why not just tell us…without food, our bodies can not survive” LIKE DUH!…but I would never find the courage to speak those words  out loud..fearing a dramatic drop to my overall mark at the end of the semester. Only years later, when I started to develop this so called “talent” to write (which if you ask me…what TALENT! 😦 ..) that I realized, I had indeed taken the words of my teachers and put them into practice. I started to read and as my reading increased, my writing improved. I didn’t spend hours in creative writing classes and when I did, I broke all of the rules on how to write 101. After all, I over heard my teacher once say, “if you know the rules to the game, then you can break them…” and I thought to myself…”man, this guy is a rebel..I LIKE i LIKe”….so I never missed his class and because of that…my writing also improved. I took my teachers advice and I started reading more and more…but you wouldn’t believe what I was actually reading..? I wasn’t reading famous ancient books from poets such as Edgar Allan Poe or the works of other “famous figures”, no that’s not my style. Instead I opened the Quran and I spent more time reading from those pages and By Allah, my writing improved. I cant really explain it but deep down inside, I know I developed my “talent” to write by reading through the pages of the beautiful Quran. The words of the All-Wise.

3) *Breaking News* We are in trouble. Both as individuals and as an Ummah. We need some serious help. Our problem is so vast, we shouldn’t allow our weak minds to limit the issues holding the Ummah hostage to the borders of Iraq, Afghanistan or even Palestine. The problems of our Ummah are so widespread, they reach to presents themselves on our very own door steps. So how come we find ourselves addressing these issues that bring shame to our Ummah. Issues such as, terrorism or woman oppression. For the record, you and I both know only about a hundred years ago, women of the West weren’t allowed to vote, let alone “been given respect”. When the pages of history make it clear to us that over 1,400 years ago, women of Arabia were granted to right to inheritance and to be judged on her minds and not the length of their legs or the size of their bras. All these blessings for women became possible due to Islam. What about the issue of terrorism? Hmmmmm then again,  HA HA HA…I almost can not stop laughing. Listen, if we were to play the numbers game for a second and realize that they’re 1.6 billion Muslims in the world and if a small percentage of them, took issues into their own hands to cause mischief…why label the vast majority of Muslims “terrorists”? I’m certain every group of people, from the beginning of time to today, their were individuals who didn’t represent their “cause” as was required and even with Islam, such individuals do exist. However, labeling the vast majority of innocent, law biding Muslims something they AINt, well my friend, thats where the line has to be drawn. So less living like animals that live for the moment and more collective efforts to bring about change. Wow, now Im starting to sound like Barak Obama.

4) Friends. This issue has to be addressed. For the wise among us, they can be excused for the next few sentences or what not, because for them….they have already mastered this art known as “selecting your friends wisely”. Can you believe, after all of these years…I still have trouble selecting friends? But the thing with me is…I do not rush to replace friends that I’ve grown apart from or have lost with time but instead, I use that period of time for myself. Its funny how we often spend so much time trying to get to know this person or that person when we dont even know our own souls. Whether the issue is…what do you want to do after you complete your studies? Where do you wanna live after university? What qualities are you looking for in a potential spouse? How are you going to become a better worshipper to Allah? and so on and so forth…we often dont have the answers to these questions. Why? And dont give me the answer “Because” cause thats a soft answer. Instead just man UP (or if you a woman, Lady IT down 🙂 ) and admit that we havent given our souls enough time to understand them. So how about this…without sounding too self-fish…I propose…we create some time for yourselves. In other words, create a life plan with yourself and not with a friend or a family member but do it all on the lonely. Never forget though, always seek Allah’s assistance and place your trust in Him. And if we were talking like they do in the hood, I would say…”Shawty, do YOU! Nothing more and nothing less” 🙂 So after you’ve given yourself some time, now comes to tricky part on how to go about selecting a companion. To be real, you never really know what type of person you’ve taken as a friend until problems present themselves. Through problems, what was hidden from you becomes apparent so be patient until Allah makes it clear to you and until then…here is a small list on what you should look for in a friend.

a) Honesty. Without it…what can I say….the friendship wont last. But with honesty comes reality and you may not like the truth so be prepared to deal with the saying “truth  hurts” cause often times, it really does.

b) Trust. Like honesty…its a trait needed to take the friendship to the next level. You may need to take a risk with lending your trust to someone until of course…things dont work out the way you planned for them too… 😦

c) A religious companion. Some of your might read this and think..”man, what is homeboy talking about?” But seriously, the most foolish amongst us is one who takes friends that never remember Allah. Not only do they distroy themselves but they take you along with them in that trip. Hense why the Messenger of Allah (saw) said, “choose your friends wisely for you will follow the religion of your friends”. The religion? Yes. So dont take this factor to be one of light importance when it might out weigh all of the other qualities that I may or may not mention.

d) Forgiveness. Listen, the truth of the matter is…we all make mistakes. Sometimes, those mistakes comes at the price of someone else’s feelings but when selecting a friend, take one that understands this component. Understands that Allah bring trails to very situation and one problem shouldnt push two companions away from one another. For me, I need to take this opportunity to apologize to a friend regarding my efforts to be clever and the result of that situation caused my dear friend to take back what they had given me. Im sure you’re reading this apology F.O and if you are…I really do mean it.

4 Responses

  1. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) told us that reconciling between people is better than observing voluntary fasts, offering voluntary prayers and giving voluntary charity.
    It was narrated that Abu’l-Darda’ (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Shall I not tell you something that is better than the status of (voluntary) fasting, prayer and charity?” They said: “Yes.” He said: “Reconciling in a case of discord, for the evil of discord is the shaver.” Al-Tirmidhi said: It was narrated that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “It is the shaver, and I do not say that it shaves hair, but that it shaves (i.e., destroys) religious commitment.”
    Narrated by Abu Dawood, 4273; al-Tirmidhi, 2433. classed as hasan by al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Tirmidhi.
    “And obey Allaah and His Messenger, and do not dispute (with one another) lest you lose courage and your strength departs, and be patient. Surely, Allaah is with those who are As Saabiroon (the patient)”
    [al-Anfaal 8:46]
    It was narrated that Abu Hurayrah (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “The gates of Paradise are opened on Monday and Thursday, and everyone who does not associate anything with Allaah is forgiven, except a man who has had an argument with his brother. It is said: ‘Wait for these two until they reconcile, wait for these two until they reconcile, wait for these two until they reconcile.” Narrated by Muslim, 2565.

    PS:

    Al-Miqdaam bin Ma’di Karib that the Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “If any of you loves his brother then he should inform him” (Tirmidhi, Hadeeth Hasan Sahih) Also, Anas ibn Maalik related: “I was sitting with the Prophet when a man came passing by, and he said, ‘Oh Prophet of Allaah, indeed I love this man (in a brotherly way)’; so he (the Prophet ) said, ‘Have you informed him of this?’; so the man said, ‘No.’; so the Prophet said, ‘Get up and go tell him.’; so he got up and went to him and said, ‘Oh so-and-so, by Allaah, indeed I love you for the sake of Allaah’; so he said, ‘May the One for whom you have loved me, love you (in return).” (related by Imam Ahmad and Abu Daawood and it is hadeeth sahih

  2. Nice read. 🙂 It is amazing mashallah how you can construct four unrelated things together to make a perfect post which can engineer so many emotions.

    Salamah

  3. ^^^ Why thank you sister…

  4. These are collected in al-Ghazali’s ‘Ihya’ ‘Ulum ad-Din’ (2/195 onwards): 1 – ‘Umar bin al-Khattab said: “If one of you is blessed with affection from his brother, he should hold onto that as tightly as possible, as it is quite rare for one to be blessed with this.” 2 – ‘Umar also said: “Nobody is given anything, besides his Islam, better than a righteous friend.” 3 – ‘Ali bin Abi Talib said: “Tend to your brothers, as they are your sustenance in this world and the next. Do you not hear the saying of the people of Hell: {“Now, we have neither intercessors nor close friends to help us!”} [ash-Shu’ara’; 100-1]?” 4 – ‘Abdullah bin ‘Umar said: “By Allah, if I fasted all day without eating, prayed all night without sleeping, spent all of my wealth in the Path of Allah, died the day I died, but, had no love in my heart for those who obey Allah, and no hatred in my heart for those who disobey Allah, none of this would benefit me in the least.” 5 – ‘Abdullah bin Mas’ud said: “If a man were to stand for seventy years, worshipping Allah between the Yemeni Corner and the Maqam of Ibrahim (at the Ka’bah), he would still be resurrected on the Day of Judgement with those whom he loved.” 6 – Ibn as-Sammak said, on his deathbed: “O Allah! You Know that, even if I had disobeyed You, I loved those who obeyed You! So, make this for me a means of nearness to You!” 7 – Mujahid said: “Those who love each other for Allah’s Sake, when they smile at each other, their sins fall from each other, just as the leaves fall from a tree before the winter.” 8 – al-Ghazali said, commenting on the hadith “The strongest bond of faith is to love for Allah and to hate for Allah”: “Because of this, it is a must that a person have enemies that he hates for Allah’s Sake, just as he has friends and brothers that he loves for Allah’s Sake.” 9 – Abu Hurayrah said: “The slave will be brought between the Hands of Allah – the Exalted – on the Day of Resurrection, and Allah will Say to him: ‘Did you love one of my awliya’, so that I can join you with him?'” 10 – al-Hasan al-Basri said: “Being harsh against a fasiq brings you closer to Allah – the Exalted.”

Leave a Reply

