I never THOUght You would say THAT!

Have you ever been caught off guard with a comment from someone that you found no words to respond with? Well I have on plenty of occasions but no comment exceeded the importance of what my companion uttered to me on this very evening.

It started with an overwhelming desire to write on my blog so I asked a companion whom I was conversing with on the phone, “can you give me some suggestions as to what I should write about on my blog?” and my companion responded, “You know, I find your blog too Islamic…why dont you discuss something other than Islam”. Shaken by the comment and somewhat caught off guard by the response, I didnt find many words to reply with so I proposed another question, “too Islamic? Thats because Im Muslim. So what else should I write about (if not Islam)..?”. And so my companion drowned in thoughts responded with, “I think you could write about other issues that dont have to do with Islam you know! Like education or how money rules the world..”  How money rules the world? Are you serious, I thought to myself. We must be living in two different worlds because in my world, money doesnt rules…it enslaves people and when it exposes the most evil of their characteristic traits, spits them out like they were nothing or like the garbage machines who dispose filth. At that moment, it was becoming more and more clear that my companion and I were from two different dimensions and our co-existence was one of delusion and not of reality. But how we’ve managed to remain this long is one of those answers that is kept solely with Allah. However the following comment that found its way out of the mouth of my companion HIT THE SPOT. It hit me soo hard I couldnt recall anything I’ve done to that point. It hit me like dramatic, sudden news. Like the arrival of sadden hearts who have been exposed to the news of the death of their most beloved individual. My once, rich memory bank entered poverty  and flashes of random ayaats from the Quran started to appear, not to mention, incidences from the Seerah, the life of the Messenger of Allah.

Just before my companion uttered the comment, I could recall remaining semi-silent searching for words that would keep the NOW awkward conversation moving forward and than it happened. Unexpectedly, I found myself placed in a situation of “testing” and not one of patience. The words of my companion appeared to me in the form of heavy barrels filled with weight that managed to escape his conscious state of mind as he uttered, “Just ease of Islam for a bit…”. I was stunned. Flashes of reality started to appear right before my very eyes. Ease off WHAT! Islam?  After sending many hours studying the religion of Allah and committing myself to His worship, a companion comes around and lacks the shyness to even utter such words to me? Now this was news to me. I was completely caught off guard. I wanted nothing more than to say, “Islam? I will NEVER ever..By Allah, I would rather be thrown off a cliff than to ease off Islam”. After hearing such a comment, I removed the phone from my ear and I started to recall the people of Mecca, when the call of One God was being proclaimed by the Messenger of Allah and how on one occasion, the leaders from the Pagans sat down with the Messenger of Allah, trying to negotiate with him (saw) regarding Islam. The pagans said, “worship our gods for one day and we will worship your God for one day” but the Messenger of Allah rejected their offer. They countered his reply with, “worship our gods for one day and we will worship your God for one week?”, again, the Messenger of Allah(saw) turned down their proposal. Finally the pagans thinking they could somehow lure the Messenger of Allah to an offer he would summit to said, “worship our gods for one day and we will worship your God for one month?”. After hearing such words, the Messenger of Allah (saw) made is known to them that this religion is not for him (saw) to decide on what can or can not be negotiated. At that moment, it became known to all of the pagans of Mecca, this is the religion of Allah and only He can legislate the matters pertaining to it. Thereby the pagans lost all hope that the Messenger of Allah would ever submit to their requests. Similarly, when I heard my companion utter, “Just ease of Islam…” I thought to myself…”Islam?” I would rather ease off food, drink, all sexually relations, all encounter with my beloved family than to ever CONSIDER easing off Islam”. Foolish, if you ask me. And the most surprising aspect to the situation is how little my companion actually knew me? Didnt my companion know I LOVE my ISLAM. I love the prayers, the fasting and most of all, I love ALLAH. How then can a companion say such words?  Seriously though, how did my companion expect me to react? Moreover, I never thought in my entire life, I would hear a companion of mine utter such words. By Allah, I knew after hearing such a comment, I was being tested and if I remained on the phone, it would be ignorant of me and if I excused myself from the conversation, I would have taken an action in which Allah would be pleased. So I rushed off the phone and I quickly sought forgiveness for my companion on the utterance of a heavy statement. A statement that will come forth on the Last Day and appear on the scale of my companion as a witness against, rather than a means of support. I noticed that I quickly distance myself from him and his words as I tried to humble myself before Allah, knowing I wasn’t completely innocent regarding the  situation. But I couldnt believe my companion said, ease of Islam? It like saying, ease off prayer, or ease off fasting and ease off giving charity to the poor. I would NEVER (and that is NEVER) ease off Islam or anything pertaining to the religion of Allah and if my relationship with my companion has collapsed after the exposure of his hidden feelings, Im confident that Allah will grant me someone who loves the religion as much as I do (inshAllah) because Allah, He is the All-knower of what we love. After hanging up the phone with my (former) companion, I was overtaken by sadness for him. I was not, to the slightest degree of imagination, reflecting over the newly destroyed relationship between myself and him, but instead…I was sad due to my lack of impact in his life. Just reflecting over the hours of conversing with him and my plots to wisely await moments to discuss the events that await us after death and our status with Allah, such efforts to cause him to realize the importance of improving his overall relationship with His creator were of little benefit to my companion. Perhaps I will never talk to this companion after this evening. If that is the decree from Allah, upon hanging up the phone, I looked up towards the heavens and I said, “Ya Allah, Your slave and my companion asked me to ease off Your religion and I my Lord, refused such a proposal. Forgive me and forgive my companion and guide us to the straight path”.

 

28 Responses

  1. SubhanAllah. I can understand him suggesting that you write about a wider variety of topics, but the way he said it, and how he said it seems to suggest much more than just a blog. I can only truly say that Islam *clicked* for me sometime during high school, so it was around that time that people began to notice the change in me. And it was my Muslim friends who seemed to take it the hardest and distance themselves from me.

    I remember two incidents perfectly, one where I was in the library with a sister when I decided I’d pray in a quiet corner, and she started to freak out and try to convince me not to pray there, where people would probably see me. And there were these two sisters, wallahi I can say they are the reason why I changed how I dress. As I studied Islam more, the hijab became more and more beautiful in my eyes, and part of that was seeing those two Muslimahs walk down the halls with their hijabs and skirts flowing. And I loved them for the sake of Allah, because we lived in a neighbourhood where there weren’t that many Muslims, but they seemed to proudly wear their identity and their deen in their every step.

    I was horrified when I found out that neither of them prayed, and that their akhlaq was far removed from what their image would suggest. One of them even laughed at me when I asked her to join me in prayer, thinking that I couldn’t be serious. Sometimes I wonder why it’s Muslims that seem so self-conscious when it comes to their religion. Early on I remember being a little nervous about having to pray in public when I had no other choice, or even the day that I decided to wear proper hijab, but I realized that it’s shaytan telling me to care about what other people think, and I remember Rasulullah (s) and his companions being alone in this, being abused, tortured, and killed simply because they would not let go of the words, “la illaha ilallah.” And that would throw any nerves out the window, because ultimately it’s what Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala thinks, and no one else.

  2. The majority of fuqaha’ have stated that it is haraam to study philosophy. Among their comments on that are the following:

    Ibn Nujaym (Hanafi) said in al-Ashbaah wa’l-Nazaa’im: Acquiring knowledge may be an individual obligation, which is as much as one needs for religious commitment to be sound; or it may be a communal obligation, which is in addition to the previous and is done for the benefit of others; or it may be recommended, which is studying fiqh and ‘ilm al-qalb (purification of the heart) in depth; or it may be haraam, which is learning philosophy, magic (sleight of hand), astrology, geomancy, natural science and witchcraft. End quote from al-Ashbaah wa’l-Nazaa’ir ma’a Sharhiha: Ghamaz ‘Ayoon al-Basaa’ir by al-Hamawi (4/125).

  3. Is that fatwa for me? I have to say I’m bothered by anyone suggesting that the knowledge which made Islamic civilization blossom and grow to become the intellectual centre of the world is haram. If anything, it sounds exactly like what the Catholic Church in Europe used to tell its people, putting them in the intellectually stagnant Dark Ages for over 500 years by discouraging knowledge and thought.

    Muslim scientists knew the circumference of the earth while Europeans still believed the world was flat; Muslim doctors were writing about the spread of disease and treatment, while Europe thought it was evil to be washing your hands; the Church was burning the works of Plato and Aristotle while Muslim scholars were translating them into Arabic and making commentaries that are still used to this day. It took the Crusades for Europe to come into contact with Islamic civilization, taking back the knowledge and lifestyle, sowing the seeds for the European Renaissance.

    Philosophy, as defined by Ibn Rushd (who, by the way, was a Maliki jurist as well as one of the most famous intellectuals and philosophers this Ummah has produced) was ‘a systematic probing into the phenomenon of creation, revealing God’s wisdom and might.’ He quoted Quran and Hadith throughout his writing, verses where Allah azza wa jaal tells us to ponder and reflect and think about His signs and favours, to prove that man was created a rational being, obliged to use his theoretical and practical reason in everyday life. Al-Ghazali, who attacked many philosophers in his writings, still wrote that it was important to understand their philosophy to be able to refute them.

    Philosophy in itself is concerned with searching for truth through rational thought, so its not innately ‘evil’ or whatever you want to call it, it’s broad enough that everything, including religion, falls under it. Islam is a philosophy. I haven’t written a single paper in my philosophy course that doesn’t take the Islamic perspective on the issue being discussed. And as I was saying before, Islam clicked for me during high school, and part of that was because I took a world religions course, and studying those other beliefs really gave me an appreciation for this deen, because everything else just paled in comparison. My questions just confused and overwhelmed the rabbi and pastor we went to go see on a field trip once, so I found it unbelievable that anyone could believe in this when they can’t even answer basic questions about their religion. Having read the Bible only reinforces my belief in Islam, while helping me in my dawa.

    I think saying that science and philosophy are haram is a slap in the face to 1400 years of Islamic civilization and knowledge.

  4. Ruling on studying philosophy

    Question:
    What is the ruling on studying philosophy? Please note that studying it is compulsory for us in Algeria.

    Answer:
    Praise be to Allaah.

    Firstly:

    It should be understood what philosophy is and what its principles are, before stating what the ruling on studying it is, because passing a ruling on something is usually based on the way it is viewed.

    Al-Ghazaali said in al-Ihya’ (1/22): Philosophy is not one branch of knowledge, it is actually four:

    1 – Geometry and mathematics: these are permissible as stated above, and there is no reason why they should not be studied unless there is the fear that one may overstep the mark and indulge in forbidden branches of knowledge, because most of those who study them overstep the mark and go on to innovations, thus the weak should be protected from them.

    2 – Logic, which deals with the way in which evidence is to be used, the conditions of evidence being valid, the definition of what constitutes evidence and guidelines on the use of evidence. These come under the heading of ‘ilm al-kalaam.

    3 – Theology, which is discussion of the essence and attributes of Allaah, which also comes under the heading of ‘ilm al-kalaam. The philosophers did not have any other kind of knowledge that was unique to them, rather they had some views and ideas which were unique to them, some of which constitute kufr and some bid’ah (innovation).

    4 – Natural sciences, some of which go against sharee’ah, Islam and truth, so it is ignorance, not knowledge that may be mentioned alongside the other branches of knowledge. Some of it involves the discussion of the attributes of different elements and how one can be changed to another. This is similar to the way in which doctors examine the human body in particular, from the point of view of what makes it sick and what makes it healthy. They look at all the elements to see how they change and move. But medicine has an edge over the physical body in that it is needed, but there is no need for the study of nature. End quote.

    In al-Mawsoo’ah al-Muyassarah fi’l-Adyaan wa’l-Madhaahib al-Mu’aasirah (2/1118-1121) it says:

    Philosophy is a Greek word composed of two words. Philo originally meant selflessness, but Pythagoras turned it to mean love; and sophia which means wisdom. The word philosopher is derived from philosophy and means the lover of wisdom. But the meaning changed and came to mean wisdom.

    Then the philosopher came to be called a wise man (hakeem). In the past the word philosophy referred to study of the basic principles, viewing knowledge as something based on rationality, the goal of which was the search for truth. For its supporters, philosophy is, as Dr. Tawfeeq al-Taweel described it: Rational examination, free from any restrictions and authority imposed on it from outside, and with the ability to go all the way on the basis of logic, propagating his view regardless of the difference between these (philosophical) views and what is customarily known, religious beliefs and the dictates of tradition, without being confronted or resisted or punished by any authority. In Aristotle’s view, the philosopher is of a higher status than a prophet, because the prophet understands things by means of imagination whereas the philosopher understands things by means of reason and contemplation. In their view, imagination is of a lower status than contemplation. Al-Faraabi agreed with Aristotle in viewing the philosopher as being of higher status than a prophet.

    In this sense philosophy is opposed to wisdom, which in Islamic terminology refers to the Sunnah as defined by the majority of muhadditheen and fuqaha’, and in the sense of judgement, knowledge and proficiency, alongside moral guidelines which control the whims and desires of the self and keep it from doing haraam things. The wise man is the one who has these characteristics, hence philosophy, as defined by the philosophers, is one of the most dangerous falsehoods and most vicious in fighting faith and religion on the basis of logic, which it is very easy to use to confuse people in the name of reason, interpretation and metaphor that distort the religious texts.

    Imam al-Shaafa’i said: The people did not become ignorant and begin to differ until they abandoned Arabic terminology and adopted the terminology of Aristotle. Even though philosophy existed in the ancient civilizations of Egypt, India and Persia, it became most famous in Greece and became synonymous with that land, the reason being that the Greek philosophers were interested in transmitting it from the legacy of idolatrous peoples and the remnants of the divinely-revealed religions, benefiting from the scriptures of Ibraaheem and Moosa (peace be upon them) after the Greek victory over the Hebrews after the captivity in Babylon, and benefiting from the religion of Luqmaan the Wise. So there was a mixture of views that confirmed the divinity and Lordship of the Creator that was contaminated with idolatry. Therefore the Greek philosophy was in some ways a revival more than an innovation.

    Ibn Abi’l-‘Izz, the commentator on al-Tahhaawiyyah, summed up the schools of philosophical thought about the five basic principles of religion in their view, as follows:

    That God does exist but He has no reality or essence, and He does not know the details of His creation, but He does know about its general terms, thus they denied that He creates the deeds of His slaves. They also did not believe in His Books, as in their view God does not speak or talk, and the Qur’aan is just something that shines from active reasons into purified human hearts. Exalted be Allaah far above what they ascribe to Him. There is no separate entity that ascends or descends, rather in their view it is all ideas in the mind that do not exist in reality. The philosophers are the one who most deny the Last Day and its events. In their view Paradise and Hell are no more than parables for the masses to understand, but they have no reality beyond people’s minds.

    The Greek philosophers still have an impact on all western philosophies and ideologies, ancient and modern. Indeed, most of the Islamic kalaami groups were influenced by them. The terminology of Islamic philosophy did not emerge as a branch of knowledge that is taught in the curriculum of Islamic studies until it was introduced by Shaykh Mustafa ‘Abd al-Razzaaq – the Shaykh of al-Azhar – as a reaction to western attacks on Islam based on the idea that Islam has no philosophy. But the fact of the matter is that philosophy is an alien entity in the body of Islam. There is no philosophy in Islam and there are no philosophers among Muslims in this deviant sense. Rather in Islam there is certain knowledge and prominent scholars who examine matters. Among the most famous philosophers who were nominally Muslims were al-Kindi, al-Faraabi, Ibn Sina (Avicenna) and Ibn Rushd (Averroes). End quote.

    Secondly:

    The majority of fuqaha’ have stated that it is haraam to study philosophy. Among their comments on that are the following:

    1 – Ibn Nujaym (Hanafi) said in al-Ashbaah wa’l-Nazaa’im: Acquiring knowledge may be an individual obligation, which is as much as one needs for religious commitment to be sound; or it may be a communal obligation, which is in addition to the previous and is done for the benefit of others; or it may be recommended, which is studying fiqh and ‘ilm al-qalb (purification of the heart) in depth; or it may be haraam, which is learning philosophy, magic (sleight of hand), astrology, geomancy, natural science and witchcraft. End quote from al-Ashbaah wa’l-Nazaa’ir ma’a Sharhiha: Ghamaz ‘Ayoon al-Basaa’ir by al-Hamawi (4/125).

    2 – al-Dardeer (Maaliki) said in al-Sharh al-Kabeer, discussing the kind of knowledge which is a communal obligation: Such as studying sharee’ah, which is not an individual obligation, and which includes fiqh, tafseer, hadeeth and ‘aqeedah, and things that help with that such as (Arabic) grammar and literature, tafseer, mathematics and usool al-fiqh – not philosophy, astrology or ‘ilm al-kalaam, according to the most sound opinion.

    Al-Dasooqi said in his Haashiyah (2/174): His phrase “according to the most sound opinion” means that it is forbidden to read the books of al-Baaji, Ibn al-‘Arabi and ‘Iyaad, unlike the one who says that it is essential to learn it in order to understand ‘aqeedah and basic religious issues. But al-Ghazaali said that the one who has knowledge of ‘ilm al-kalaam knows nothing of religious beliefs except the beliefs that the common people share, but they are distinguished by their ability to argue and debate.

    3 – Zakariya al-Ansaari (Shaafa’i) said in Asna al-Mataalib (4/182): As for learning philosophy, magic (sleight of hand), astrology, geomancy, natural science and witchcraft, it is haraam. End quote.

    4 – al-Bahooti (Hanbali) said in Kashshaaf al-Qinaa’ (3/34): The opposite of shar’i knowledge is knowledge that is haraam or makrooh. Haraam knowledge is like ‘ilm al-kalaam in which they argue on the basis of pure reason or speak in a manner that contradicts sound, unambiguous reports. If they speak on the basis of reports only or on the basis of texts and rational thought that is in accordance with them, then this is the basis of religion and the way of ahl al-sunnah. This is what is meant by the words of Shaykh Taqiy al-Deen. In his commentary he explains that even better. [Haraam knowledge also includes] philosophy, magic (sleight of hand), astrology and geomancy, as well as alchemy and natural sciences. End quote.

    It should be noted that an exception from this prohibition is made for those who study it as a speciality in order to explain its deviations and refute the falsehoods that they stir up.

    Thirdly:

    If studying philosophy is compulsory, then you must beware of believing in any of its falsehoods or admiring its people. You should strive hard to acquire shar’i knowledge, especially that which has to do with ‘aqeedah (belief), so that you will develop immunity and resistance to specious arguments.

    We ask Allaah to help and guide you.

    And Allaah knows best.

  5. Allaah warns every Muslim against speaking without knowledge, as He says (interpretation of the meaning):

    “And follow not (O man, i.e., say not, or do not, or witness not) that of which you have no knowledge. Verily, the hearing, and the sight, and the heart of each of those ones will be questioned (by Allâh)”[al-Israa’ 17:36]

    Islam calls us to learn all kinds of beneficial knowledge. Branches of knowledge vary in status, the highest of which is knowledge of sharee’ah, then knowledge of medicine, then the other fields of knowledge.
    ALLAH KNOWS BEST

  6. The Muslim should protect his beliefs (‘aqeedah) and faith, and be concerned to ensure that his nature and thinking remain sound. He should shun specious arguments and confusion for the sake of his religious commitment and heart, for hearts are weak and specious arguments may deceive them when presented in an attractive manner by the people of innovation and whims and desires, but in fact they are weak and specious arguments.

    Looking at books of innovation and misguidance, or books of shirk and myths, or books of other religions which have long been distorted, or books of heresy and hypocrisy, is not permissible except for the one who is well-versed in Islamic knowledge and whose aim in reading them is to refute them and explain where they went wrong. As for one who is not well-versed in Islamic knowledge reading them, in most cases he will become confused as a result. That has happened to many people, even seekers of knowledge, until it ended in kufr, Allaah forbid. In most cases the one who reads these books thinks that his heart is stronger than the specious arguments presented therein, but then suddenly – when he reads a lot – he finds that his heart has absorbed more of the specious arguments than he ever imagined it would.

    Hence the scholars and the righteous salaf were unanimously agreed that it is haraam to read these books, and Ibn Qudaamah al-Maqdisi wrote an essay entitled Tahreem al-Nazar fi Kutub al-Kalaam (Prohibition on reading the books of kalaam (“Islamic” philosophy)).

    ALLAH KNOWS BEST

  7. Assalam Safia, I should discuss other “issues” besides “Islam” however, I just couldnt believe the words that were used to get me to understand that. But you know, I dont mean to be talking about this individual cause things happen and Im sure you can relate to a similar situation in which you felt that the wrong set of words were used to advice you about a path you’ve taken. But IT is what IT is..

    By the way, dont take brother AB words the wrong way. Im sure he means well…. 🙂

  8. Hey….Assalaam (did anyone notice Ameen’s greeting? heh)

    Did you confront the brother about how you felt? And did you advice him about this? I’m just saying people just need reminders. I think we all said things we totally DID not mean at times. But depending on the person, comments and suggestions may differ if you know what i mean?

    I mean if your companion is not practicing as much, then maybe you should not take it harshly? What about talking to him before you make him your ‘former’ friend.

    I don’t see anything wrong with discussing about Islamic Issues constantly! I mean this is our way of our life, so why not. And if you ask me, most of your reflections are more related to you rather than anything else.

    Br AB, where do you get all your textual evidence? I mean do you have a website you often visit? I’m just interested to know.

    Safia and AB are very promising commentators may I say 🙂 your comments are very interesting.

    Man… I got LOTS to read on this blog! (getting up to get some coffee)

  9. Bismillah

    Masha’allah that was a good read and a beneficial reminder… I just came across this Hadeeth and thought I should share it with you guys.. This is a reminder for me first and foremost and it’s not to put down your companion you were describing in your post, Allaah knows best his intention!

    Narrated Abu Huraira:
    That he heard Allaah’s Apostle saying, “A slave of Allaah may utter a word without thinking whether it is right or wrong, he may slip down in the Fire as far away a distance equal to that between the east.” [Bukhari]

    May Allaah protect us from such a word ameen

  10. Asslamu Alaykum. Only the fatwa’s that I post just like the one above are all from {www.islam-qa.com}, supervised by Schoar Muhammad Salih al-Munajjid in Saudi Arabia. He is one of the few scholars who are still living by the will of Allah tabarak taala. He studied with Abd al-Aziz ibn Abd Allah ibn Baaz (another Scholar) who passed away in 1999. May Allah taabarak taala have mery on him and be pleased with the both of them for their work in true Islam. They were infulenced by Ibn Abd al Wahhab and Uthaymeen
    al-Albaanee.

    The other work is from other authentic sources I just happen to have run across from before which I just copy and paste while I am at work. Just another way of hoping to sincerly educate others from what is out there for mankind to learn and utlize. May Allah taabarak taala be pleased with us until our last day and forgive us for our shortcomings and peace and blessings to our beloved Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.s.), his family and companions.

    PS: everything we do either goes in our good book or bad book of deeds Let’s ask ourselves where all of the literature we post on the net goes. (ie: all in the good, or just some of it, or Allah knows best)

  11. Every use we make of our tongues/write is recorded by Allah and we will be held accountable for that. Allah said:

    {Maa yalfiidhu min qaulin illa ladaihi raqeebun ‘ateed.}
    {He can make no utterance but there is with him a fastidious recorder.} Qaf: 18

    {Waa inna ‘alaikum lahaafidheen * Kiraaman kaatibeen * Ya’lamoona maa taf’aloon.}
    {And surely there are guardians over you * Noble writers * They know all that you do.}

    Not only evil speech, but also frivolous speech/writting must be avoided and we must always be conscious of the consequences of what rolls off our tongues/documents. Every use of this faculty of speech given to us by Allah must be with the intention of doing some good. In the following hadith, the Prophet (SAS) did not simply warn us about speaking evil or committing sins by speaking/writting. Rather, he advises us that either what we want to say is “khairan” – i.e., IS good or produces some good – or else we should refrain from speaking/writting and just keep quiet.

    A Muslim should never engage in speech/writting which has no good purpose with the justification that there is no sin involved (no evil).

    The Prophet (SAS) warned us that we will be questioned about all of the time, age, wealth and health we were given. What did we use it for? So, frivolous talk, writting, talking about nothing or excessive talking/writting about things which are of no concern to Muslims like sports is an abuse of the gifts of Allah of time, the ability to speak, etc. Secondly, speech/writting which has no purpose of “good” because of human weaknesses and desires will quickly degenerate into something sinful such hurting someone’s feelings, backbiting and other such sins.

    ALLAH KNOWS BEST

  12. “And if any do evil, their faces will be thrown headlong into the Fire; “Do you receive a reward other than that which you have earned by your deeds?” (27:90)

  13. “Only those who believe in our âyâh who, when they are reminded of them fall down prostrate, and glorify the praises of their rabb, and they are not proud. Their sides forsake their beds, to invoke their Rabb in fear and hope, and they spend [charity in Allâh’s Cause] our of what We have bestowed on them”. [32:15-16]

  14. As for the friend, If the relationship between you and them is as you describe, then adhere to the Book of Allaah and the guidance of His Messenger (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). Try to advise them, enjoin upon them that which is right and good, and forbid them to do that which is evil. Be patient in bearing their insults and harm, and do not let their insults deter you from carrying out your duty towards them, which is to enjoin what is good and forbid what is evil. This is the way of Allaah concerning the callers and those who are called. Allaah has explained that in the aayah where He tells us that Luqmaan said to his son (interpretation of the meaning):

    “O my son! Aqim-is-Salaat (perform As-Salaah), enjoin (on people) Al-Ma‘roof (Islamic Monotheism and all that is good), and forbid (people) from Al-Munkar (i.e. disbelief in the Oneness of Allaah, polytheism of all kinds and all that is evil and bad), and bear with patience whatever befalls you. Verily, these are some of the important commandments (ordered by Allaah with no exemption)”

    [Luqmaan 31:17]

    If you fulfil your obligation of advising them, and you do this repeatedly but do not find any way to reach their hearts, or they cling more stubbornly to their falsehood, then withdraw from them lest you become weak in your religious commitment and moral standards, or their influence over you leads to bad consequences. Be sincere towards Allaah and Allaah will help you. Do not worry about feeling lonely if you leave them, for loneliness is better than bad companions.

    “And whosoever fears Allaah and keeps his duty to Him, He will make a way for him to get out (from every difficulty).

    And He will provide him from (sources) he never could imagine. And whosoever puts his trust in Allaah, then He will suffice him. Verily, Allaah will accomplish his purpose. Indeed Allaah has set a measure for all things” [al-Talaaq 65:2-3 – interpretation of the meaning]

  15. Asalamu alaykum

    interesting post

    I’ve been trough something similar, except my friend wasnt so blunt , rather i could sense it in her attitude. But honestly speaking I dont blame her, because i feel as tought it was and is our job to deliver the message of Al Islam to our families and friends, and sometimes we neglect them , by either not giving them proper dawah or by not making duaa for them. But i guess in your case if you fear that this friend might bring you more harm then benefit then its worth distancing yourself from him. And Allah Knows BEST

    lesson to learn from this….
    Get to know your friends even if you think you know them Your friends have haqq over you.

  16. Assalam to all and a very good morning/afternoon or evening….

    Faith, welcome back to the blog. Its been awhile dont you think…?
    As for your questions…I didnt advice the brother but Ive been trying to hint that the hereafter is quickly approaching and the wisest amongst us is the one who sends good deeds forward for him/her sake. But after this comment, I felt like..you know, maybe (and just maybe) my efforts to make him realize aint going nowhere and Allah knows best.

    Bint Ibrahim, also sister welcome back.
    The hadeeth you noted is DEEP. MashAllah. May Allah truly protect us from using foolish words that lack reflection.

    Bint AbdulQadir, welcome to the blog. I think this is your first comment and perhaps your first visit. In that case…take some time to read what you’ve missed cause around here, we move fast and we need you to catch up inshAllah. Regarding my friend, I dont think he (by himself) can become a means of harm for me and Allah knows best. But I would rather be safe than to be sorry even though I dont think I would allow myself to be overcome by his words.

    Brother AB, I love that site. Its the site I would often visit when Islam was growing in my heart.

  17. Yes ofcourse Ameen, it has been a long time. However, I see that you will be hitting ET soon. 😉

    I got much to read and I’m looking forward to it.

    You know what I miss most about your blog though? your poems. What happened?

  18. My poems? There still around but they’ve managed to hide themselves in classified pages. Im gonna try to work out a deal with them soon inshAllah so that I can publish them on the BLOG but these days, Poetic Justice is in no mood to negotiate 😦

  19. Salamu alaikum

    To Sis Safia , Bro Ameen rights I think brother AB meant well. Both of you are arguing the same point but in different ways.

    From I can remember from LUL (light upon light) seminar, philosophy was introduced into the Muslim world via the Greeks, it wasn’t something that they originally intended to pursuit however because of travel and interactions with other people they became exposed to it and learned it to Advance Islam.
    I personally think philosophy is dangerous especially if you’re confused about life as is. And For most people it complicates matters because the authors of these theories are confused themselves. So I mean it makes perfect sense for the Ulama to warn the masses against the dangers of philosophy, especially if what’s at stake is compromising your Aqeedah.

    For some studying philosophy brings them closer to the worship of Allah, because they start noticing all the imperfections in other theories-after all they’re man thought, but I think in the same token if your Iman is already weak then learning about these philosophies might confuse and push you further from the deen of Allah ( I know people to whom this has happened to and Wallahi its very sad, so I say learn whatever is wajib upon you, because this is what you’ll be asked about and held accountable for.
    Wallahu Ta’ala ‘Alam

  20. BTW Bro Ameen, you can post your poems on the Almaghrib forums, they have a file for poetry under Qabeelah majd.
    Just letting you know

  21. ^^^Assalaam I know, I use to post some of mine poems as my signature on the forums and Ive even contributed a few poems to the “Where Art Thou Poets” (I think thats the name of the thread)

    But I dont use the forums like I use to so if I feel a need to share poetic lines with the people, then I just use my blog as the stepping stone to bringing my words to life.

    But thanks for letting me know..

  22. Wa alaikum assalam sis

    I took the class as well, but I understood the issue as being with the deviant groups who included elements of other philosophies and tried to incorporate them into Islam. That’s where the problem arises, for obvious reasons.

    There is no shortage of verses in the Quran encouraging mankind to think and reflect and ponder about everything. It’s inherent in our religion to increase oneself in knowledge. And it was with that foundation that Muslims began actively gathering knowledge from China, India, Europe, Africa. And it was with this intellectual focus that Islamic civilization flourished.

    Philosophy was just one of the many disciplines that Muslims excelled in, translating and commenting on the works of the classic Greeks, but there was no conflict with simply reading and understanding someone else’s works. You can’t paint ‘philosophy’ with one brush and refer to it as this single monolithic unit, like I was trying to explain earlier, it’s more like an umbrella term with many, many different theories and individuals falling within it. In the course I’m taking, we study Islam as a philosophy, because philosophy is broad enough a study to include belief systems within it.

    So what I’m trying to get at is that I think it’s completely ridiculous to be so quick to label ‘philosophy’ as haram, when it’s as broad a study as it is. Sure, many philosophers had views that are contrary to Islamic beliefs, but likewise we have Muslim philosophers and others whose views don’t conflict with Islam in any way. And I fail to see why any sort of knowledge is threatening enough to prevent someone from studying it, because to say so would equate simply learning something to actually accepting and believing it. I disagree that the “majority of Ulema” hold this view, these people constitute a minority at best.

    Akhee AB also mentioned science as being haram. It’s this mentality that contributed to the collapse of Islamic civilization, because we got to a point where we became so backward in technology and science that we could not compete with a rising Europe. This after 500 years of them not even being able to read, and finding inspiration in the knowledge and advances of the Islamic empire to do it themselves. I’m sure that anyone who is familiar with the history of these two regions of the world would find these sorts of comments both frustrating and ignorant.

    And as far as “meaning well,” the brother and I have butted heads on numerous issues in the past. He only brought this up (notice how the fatwa was completely irrelevant to the post or anything I said) after I had mentioned that I was writing a paper for my philosophy course in passing on my blog. So the brother basically waited until I posted here to drop a few pages of how “haram” what I was doing was. I should probably add that the paper was asking me to discuss whether or not evil lies in the hearts of men, looking at considerations of human nature. My four pages which mostly discussed fitrah and shaytan got me 100%.

  23. Asalamu alekum

    Safia, I’m interested to read your paper.

  24. Assalam alaikum Safia, I kind a sense frustration on your part and for whatever its worth, I spoke to the brother on the phone today and without me bringing it up, he told me he felt really sorry for making you feel the way you do. So forgive him for the sake of Allah and remember, disagreeing on issues is not always a bad thing. Like I mentioned pervously, Umar (ra) and Abu Bakr (ra) use to disagree on many shoura points in the presense of the Messenger of Allah (saw) and its human nature that we develop our opinions from our experiences and knowledge of issues. Ok I dont wanna drag this issue and make it into a bigger problem so inshAllah let me just say one more thing.

    I too am interested in reading your paper 🙂

    Ma’salaam

  25. Wa alaikum assalam

    I’ve just posted it on my page.

  26. It’s really no big deal. I realize that the brother has a different opinion than I do on this, but I guess I felt his tone was more condescending than simply an attempt to explain his view. But I too apologize for sounding rude or harsh or making him feel bad about anything in any way, though I still think his position is insane 🙂

  27. To his defense, it wasnt his position nor were those his words. He just felt a need to share with you and the rest of us a scholarly fatwa on the topic of research. Obviously, there was a misunderstanding that took place along the way.

  28. Right, but one position of many. Actually one of the philosophers I mentioned was a Maliki judge from Al-Andalus, and wrote one of the most famous books of fiqh for the madhab. But I do see your point.

Leave a Reply

