I Have My Own Dream

I have a Dream:

 

     It happened a few decades before I came into existence and therefore, unfortunately I wasn’t amongst the hundreds of thousands of people who gathered to witness Dr. Martin Luther King deliver his famous “I Have a Dream” speech but that does not mean I don’t have my own dream. In fact, I think my dream could be considered the Dream of all dreams because my dream is a dream in which I am certain hundreds of thousands of others have also dreamt that very same dream. I dream of a Greater Somalia.

 

     A Somalia that is not limited to regions which are distinguished from other regions by different flags hanging from different areas within the same land nor a Somalia that is divided by tribal tensions which have grasped the latest of our generations by their throats, preventing unity even amongst our children. I dream of a Somalia that would become the shinning example for the world to follow; a Nation that would be known for its justice and good standing and furthermore, a nation who would stand as one to fight against the oppressors from the world. I dream of a Nation who would risk its own existence for one of its citizens because the wrong done to one citizen leads to the collapse of the foundation built upon justice. And most importantly, I dream of a nation who would rule its people not based on laws that change over time and need constant reform but a law that would enjoin on its citizens the rulings and commandments of the Most High because such rulings do not prosper one group over another rather, they are laws that are divine and just. My dream for a greater Somalia may seem unrealistic to many while others foolishly compare our people to the Americans with such statements as, “if the Americans can elect an African American as their president, we Somalis can come together for a greater cause”, and to such a statement I respond, DON’T ever compare me nor my people to the Americans! I mean, EVER ever ever ever! Secondly, if the Americans hadn’t elected an African America as their leader would that mean, the Somalis would not be able to unite for a greater cause? No, and therefore such a statement carries little to no value. Now my dream for a greater Somali did not end with the above mentioned points, so back to my dream…

 

     I have dreamt for such a long time for a Somalia that would provide security to all its citizens and grant rights to move about in the land with freedom and safety to all its foreign visitors. A nation who would invests in their children so that their children would grow to become the leaders for the next generation of mankind. I dream of a nation filled with courageous men and respected women. A nation that would be the home to true soldiers and one of these soldiers would be equivalent to a thousand members from the US Special Forces. And one of our soldiers would not be equivalent to a thousand of their men because of his physic or his wealth but due to his courage and his love for justice. The difference between the two soldiers would be, when the Somali soldiers march forward to enjoin good and to do away with injustice, a Somali soldier needs not the assistance of an F16 flying above nor the security of a Helicopter Gunship and why would he need such assistance when he is defending justice and is not the leading supporter for corruption and the face of oppression? I dream of a Somalia that provides health care and a strong education system not to mention, addresses the issues of homeland poverty. I dream of a nation that does not forget its sister Nations at the very first taste of prosperity. And finally, I dream of a Somalia that our great grandparents worked so hard to establish for us and would also cause them to become proud of our contributions towards building a state that recognizes peace and unity, love and justice.  

7 Responses

  1. beautiful sentiments and well-written too. I guess its dreams that start everything off. ITs very promising that people like you with those dreams exist and I’m sure there’s many out there.

    By the law of averages, lol, Im sure there’s going to be at least the one person who acts on that dream, that impulse. Rather, it will be by the will of Allah. Let’s just pray its one who’s got the head firmly placed in the religion of Al Islaam.
    The worst thing about having a failed state is having one due to ignorance.

    Salam Alaykum.
    P.S – yep, I’m Somali, I guess that post said it all.lol.

  2. Salaam Ameen,

    Masha’Allah, that was well written. I pray that dream becomes a reality soon. Let’s never forget the plight of our people back home and continue making du’a for their well-being and for our country to be restored, Insha’Allah.

    *nostalgic now… 😦

  3. writer’s block? maybe.
    I want to read more …but I shall wait.

  4. No, I dont believe in writers block. I just been caught up, and when I found a few moments to spare, I’ve been reading blogs from others rather then writing in my own.

    But give me a topic, it will surve as motivation to write inshAllah.

    PS. The topic can be about anything.

  5. Ooh, the power *evil laugh*.
    Lemme compose myself.
    Here’s a question , you write your thoughts on it. It’s really random but please take a moment to reflect on it, Iwant to read your opinion on it .

    The angels will descend on a great Day. The angels will descend in ranks. The heavens will open up on that day, the heavens will open like doors on a great Day.

    Blank. We read it and most of the time forget about it. But, can you imagine? We can’t because its beyond our understanding. It seems like fantasy but its real, it will happen, bi ithnillah.

    OK, OK, here’s the question, does it seem strange to you that you will not be able to marvel at what will occur on that Day because of how terrible that day will be?
    .
    Your opinions and thoughts should make for a good read or you could just discard my very random request!

    Salam alakyum
    P.S – Really? No writer’s block.
    Don’t you have those terrible days where you can’t even look at a pen and paper, however rare they are?

  6. Its funny how i decided to spot by this blog when I still havent touched mine yet, BUT this post is amazing mashallah.

    I have an idea for something you can write about, have you heard what happened in that masjid in MN? Why dont you write about the supposed somali terrorist in MN? It has nothing to do with me or my somali community here, but somehow my parents and grandparents have an extra eye out for me and have been making random comments on how i should not get myself involved in the wrong masjid crowds!

    Just a thought.. its random but I need hear someone else’s perspective in this mess! 🙂

    May Allah bring Somalia’s unity and our dignity back!

  7. Rummage, I have those days in which I can’t stand to look at the pen and the paper but I know many issues would still be bothering me so I cant really say, I experience writers block because there is always something to write about. But dont get me wrong, everybody needs a break, but can a break from writing be considered ‘writers block’? I dont know, you tell me. Like one of my teachers said, ‘if your experiencing this so called writers block, its because your trying to write about something you dont really want to write about’! <- It makes complete sense, if you ask me 🙂

    Trapped in This Dunya, that issue of those so-called terrorist in MN is one of those issues that boils my brains. From what I’ve heard and read regarding the issue, they dont much proof and it seems to be one of those incidences in which the FBI is tarketing the largest masjid in the State. I was on a Somali Forum recently and many were debeating the very same incident but I stayed away from dropping my two cents because when we get distracted with addressing many issues at the same time, chances are, we dont get anything done. But if there is something more specific that you want me to bring to life, then fire away. Until then, assalam alaikum

Leave a Reply

